The World Was My Oyster but I Didn’t Know How to Cook by Christy Potter – My Review

oystergif

About the Author:
christy in writing room Christy Potter is an award-winning writer whose work has appeared in newspapers and magazines across the country. She’s developed a loyal following through her blog, www.ChristytheWriter.com, which focuses on books, reading, and the craft of writing. Her most recent book is “The World Was My Oyster But I Didn’t Know How to Cook.” She also hosts a regular podcast, available on iTunes, called “Going Gray.” In her spare time, she is a runner, sculptor, environmentalist, beer enthusiast, and thrift store queen.
Christy was born and raised in a small town in Kansas, where she honed her writing skills by creating short stories and poems, which she Crayon-illustrated herself and bound with a hole punch and yarn. “The Pig Who Hated Mud” is still a bestseller among her grandmothers.
She now lives in the New York City metro area where she recently stepped down from a long career as a journalist and is now a full-time author. She lists her biggest influences as John Updike, Philip Roth, Susan Sontag, and Jonathan Franzen.

About the Book:
Cover Longtime journalist and award-winning writer Christy Potter has compiled some of her recent work into “The World is My Oyster But I Didn’t Know How to Cook.” It includes humorous and thought-provoking essays on New York (where she lives), Kansas (where she’s from), childhood, books, infertility, good days, bad days, and life in general, as well as interviews she’s done with well-known writers like Janet Evanovich and Lois Lowry. There are also a couple of short stories tossed in, just for a little variety. Fans of Elizabeth Gilbert and David Sedaris will love the fresh, new voice of Christy Potter.

Bibliophile’s Musings:
Christy Potter Kass (April 1, 2013)
Potter brings a varied and unique style to this collection of narrative non-fiction. Humor, inspiration, faith, hope, encouragement, and many other emotions flow through these quotes, excerpts, stories, interviews, and essays she shares from her life and encounters among the worlds of entertainment and writing. Despite the potpourri of material she has compiled I was impressed by the flow and connection of this book as a whole. Christy transports readers and inspires them through non-fiction. For a reader who gravitates to fiction due to the entertainment and escapism but enjoys the character development and history as well this book proved a pleasant surprise from most non-fiction experiences. Textbook and non-fiction writers you could earn yourself more recreational readers as well as actually make homework “fun” by taking a page or two from this author’s presentation methods. The old saying, “Just stick to the facts!”, only works if you are being interrogated by the police. (ISBN#9780989165136 [paperback], 157pp, $8.99 [paperback], $4.99 [ebook])

Codicil
Check out the rest of this tour via our schedule

Visit Christy at Her Website, Facebook, and Twitter

For more on the book or to purchase a copy visit Amazon (in paperback and for Kindle), Barnes & Noble (for Nook), or iTunes (for iPad, iPhone, iPod Touch)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge